Review of The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Posten

  • Pages: 320
  • ISBN: 978-1683690962
  • Genre: Young Adult

Hello everyone, And here I’m back with the review of The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Posten. Here in the second book of the Once upon a Con series we have the re-imagining of Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper. Don’t we remember that girls?(Even to the boys who saw it) So here is the story with a modern twist.

If you haven’t read Geekrella before reading The Princess and The Fangirl, it’s really fine. But still, I will suggest you to read Geekrella first as there are references here and there in the book, which will make you smile in your reading nook(Did that rhyme? I don’t know but we will go with that!)

So you can read the review of Geekrella here. Without further ado let’s get into the review.

A Little Overview Of The Story: So the ExelsiCon is back and Imogen Lovelace is at the con with the mission to save her favourite fictional character- Princess Amara from franchise, Starfield. But the actress who plays Princess Amara – “Jessica Stone” is fed up with the fandom life and problems that comes with her playing Princess Amara. She wants to leave the Starfield franchise as soon as possible.

But the script to the sequel of Starfield gets leaked and it was just given to one person in the cast who is Jess(Jessica) So then she gets into the shoes of Imogen Lovelace, her lookalike to catch culprit who is leaking the script. And here their worlds collide and they jump into each others shoes, how they find their love, live their life from completely different views is something exciting to read about.

So let’s get into my review.

My Review: In the Princess and the Fangirl we follow two point of views, one is of Jessica Stone and second is of Imogen Lovelace. Narration is great, cheesy and will bring a wide smile to your face many times. The twist to the plot is quite interesting, adventurous and kept me going. Character development disappointed me at some points, like Imogen’s actions when she was impersonating Jessica, those actions were immature. Although, I enjoyed reading about Jessica.

The side characters such as Ethan Tanaka(Jessica’s friend), Harper(Imogen’s online friend), Milo(Imogen’s younger brother), Bran(Milo’s boyfriend), Lonny and even Kathy who is Imo’s mommy were amazing! I loved them all and all the characters who were referenced from the first book.

Jessica’s and Imogen’s love interest is another thing I am not on board for. I mean it genuinely felt like Imogen’s part was not looked upon really well, was underdeveloped in this part. I think I wanted more from Imogen’s character but I did’t get it. I love the world of ExelsiCon, all the booths and con related activites make me feel great. It is quick, great book to read. Climax was great and satisfying.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I give this book a four out of five stars. Also can’t wait to read the next book in the series- Bookish and the Beast, retelling of ……You guessed it? maybe! See you in the next review.

~Kashish~

Leave a comment