Six Of Crows: Leigh Bardugo

Heart is an arrow . It demands aim to land true
  • Pages: 480
  • ISBN: 978-16227792127
  • Genre: Fantasy, YA Fiction

“When everyone knows you are a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing”

Hello everyone, here I am back with the review of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. So I am sure you have read or even heard about it if you are surrounded by booktubers and/or bookstagramers. So do you like to watch those movies or read books on heist and assassination?

If yes ! Then this one is for you. So without further ado lets get into the overview of the story and my review below it.

A little overview of the story: Here we have Kaz Brekker from Ketterdam, which is a bustling hub of International trade and where you can get anything for the right price. Kaz is a criminal prodigy and he gets an offer to a deadly mission that can make him rich. So Kaz Brekker needs a team to carry out this heist. So he gathers six people(Inej, Jesper, Nina, Matthias, Wylan and Kaz himself) who have abilities to continue this heist. But anything can go wrong, although they have a solid plan but there are unknown problems the team has to go through. The heist can make them richer if they survived the deadly mission. If they don’t complete the mission then it will affect the world in many ways.

My review: This story has many great elements like plot, characters, heist and romantic backstories. Narration is quite intriguing and quite descriptive and it did not fill me with unnecessary details which I like about books. Little things are related to each other in a smart way.

Characters are just amazing. Kaz Brekker is such an awesome protagonist; he is cold, greedy and bold, I loved that I saw his complete journey. He is calm as well as caring (in the most rare cases) I just like all the flashbacks time to time, loved how strong he got with all of his experiences. So all in all, A mind blowing and interesting protagonist. Inej was one of the characters I wanted to read more about. Jesper and Wylan are strong characters, it was great to read about Wylan proving himself and making his place in the group. The only character with whom I didn’t connect a lot were Nina and Matthias. Until a point where plan was executed, I didn’t care about them, mainly about their past.

The plot is great, I loved reading about the crows conflicts with other groups; it was described phenomenally , when they were struggling to trust each other, when the plot twist came in, all the elements of heist are adventurous and keeps you on the edge of your your seat. I didn’t feel a lack of world- building because this story was more about the characters and not about the world.

Overall it was a great, fun, adventurous read. I give it a five out of five stars.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

~Kashish~

3 thoughts on “Six Of Crows: Leigh Bardugo

Leave a comment