Why did Pride and Prejudice blew out my mind!!

Pages: 416

ISBN: 9780007350773

Publications: Harper Collins

Format: Paperback

Quotes: “Affection of candour is common enough; one meets it everywhere”

Love, royalty, the essence of criticism, superiority and swank are the words I would dedicate to the story of this book. Love had always been a matter for me which I don’t want to give a thought, because usually I don’t like love triangles and all. But this love story is different and worth falling in love……oh not in love with someone, I mean this book! Haha (that was a bad joke)

If you haven’t read the book you can have a look at the story below “my review” section,No spoilers. And if you have you can continue dear friends…..

My Review: One of my vacation read was this classic by Jane Austen, this book has an apt tittle when talking about the story. Frankly, I just hated the beginning of the story, when I began reading I had to put it down after reading 20 chapters. Because I got really confused between the characters, like who is whose daughter!? and who are the daughters! what are their exact names!……I mean I agree before reading any of classic, it is really good to have patience. I have read many classics like The picture of Dorain Gray and 1984.But this classic didn’t seem my cup of tea at first! But after two days of leaving this book on my shelf, I gave one more try to it and read with much concentration.

By the way, it turned out to be so amazing and till the end i felt the excitement once I got all the characters. The story has a lot of things to tell sarcastically and clearly reflects the nature of the superior classes of the society of late Nineteenth century. By the way, I need to tell you have a little patience to read this one or it gets really complex and then you don’t get any point of the story! If you bring classics thinking that you will finish it in hours, believe me it would be useless – either you will not be able to enjoy the story or it would be like at the end you will close the book and say, “Ah, What was the story!!!?”

All in all, it was prolix at first but then turned out to be a wonderful one(I usually have a habit of completing the books i bring for myself, because i know something in the description attracted me to try it, so I trust my choice and complete it).

A Little Overview of Story: Pride and prejudice from Harper Collins is divided into three sections and had 60 chapters. The family of Mr. Bennet, including his wife and five daughters lives in Longbourn. Mrs. Bennet who is ever worried about getting her daughters married and Mr. Bennet is a gentleman – happy in his library. Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Catherine and Lydia are the daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Bennet and each one is young like the blooming flowers in spring – they have walks to nearby town, goes to ball when their mom forces them to. While in Netherfield, three miles away from Longbourn, there is a new gentleman named Mr. Bingley who arrives with his two sisters and a friend named Mr. Darcy.

On getting thus flattery news about the arrival of new neighbours in the town, especially the young gentlemen- Mrs. Bennet runs her mind in only one direction i.e. to get one of her daughter married to Mr. Bingley. There starts different attempts and the uninvited weird situations between her daughters. Some of the unexpected things happen! Will Mrs. Bennet be successful in her only mission to get her daughters married and happy?!

You can get it from amazon

“>amazon

~Kashish~

Photo credit: I, me, Myself

QOTD: Which is the most unknown but must a read classic you know?

Leave a comment