Nostalgia: A small story that everyone felt in their lives

“Nostalgia

I was walking down to a street behind the station, cursing myself to miss the train. Though, the home was just a walk of few minutes away, Ah! but have got out of habit of walking. But that day I felt that I wanted to enjoy the way to home! And there I was, bag in my one hand and on the way to home sweet home. There came a tea-stall that I didn’t notice from those trains. I said myself, ‘Let’s have a tea, Kashish’ and I sat on the bench outside the stall, the winds were still as the souls are nowadays-that just do their routine stuff. But the children playing around broke the silence, they were like sparrows that awakens and attracts everyone towards its chirp. I gazed at them waiting for the cup of tea, I longed for.

By that time, a ball came swirling around the place where I sat and a girl with her incandescent smile came just a little close to take the ball. But she stopped and with a playful expression she wanted me to kick it, I don’t know how she was able to feel that I was yearning to play like them and missed my childhood days; the days that I spent on wide streets playing with no worries. I gave what she wanted; a kick to the ball as excitedly as if I was playing with them and a wide smile was left behind as she left and continued to play. I was taken aback, thoughts swirling in my mind like a whirlpool –

‘The time with school bags and not suitcases or office bags, the time from restless roaming and leisure to don’t let the morning train miss-or you may get a risk to your job. The time from maintaining the friendship in the group we had at schools and colleges to somewhere where you don’t make friends. From the time the hot tea at the winter evenings with family in warmth of abode to the coffee stains at midnight on the office tables.In this Life, a span that is called childhood took a backseat, don’t know when it did but at-least it was somewhere buried in heart. Not awaken! That child who was naive and frisky is screaming to show itself.”

And I was nudged after few minutes for the cup of tea that I had forgotten about. I was elated by each sip and it consoled me, the warmth of it reminded me of the memories of the past. I wanted to live more in the kingdom of past but the cup was too small!! Or I could make a better present enjoying each situation life brings along. Oh! The cup of tea got emptied so soon. But as I got up, a new excitement was filled in my soul which no longer wanted fight with the life but wanted to live it as a roller coaster ride,stumbling but heart throbs after it ends . And here I was on the way that led me home; the smile had influenced me!

//Hope it would influence the readers, it was just a small attempt to write this story and let me know if you want me to make me this thing better and bring you such small stories. A small effort to live your life in a great way.

Also let me know your nostalgic moments in the comments.//

~Kashish~

Photo credit: Pinterest

Leave a comment