The girl in the tower: Katherine Arden

Pages: 363

ISBN: 978-1101885963

Genre: Novel, Fantasy Fiction

Quotes:”You must never doubt your own senses and you must not fear the things you see”

So I am back with the review of the second book in the Winternight trilogy. If you want to read my thoughts on the first book The bear and the Nightingale then click here . This is a spoiler free review but it includes names of the new characters which are not in the first book.

So let’s get into the overview of the story and then my review.

A little overview of the story: Following from the bear and the Nightingale, our protagonist Vasya has to choose from a life in a convent or marriage. But she ends up disguising as a boy and roams around in the forest of Russia. She sees the burned villages by bandits and soon cones face to face with them. But she fights them and soon finds herself a place in the acquaintances of the Grand prince of Moscow due to her chivalric actions.

But one of the priest Sasha comes to know that this new acquaintance of Prince is his wild sister. And he has to keep secrets so that the prince won’t get angry. Vasya meets her sister Olga in her tower and she is happy to be united with her family. But soon Moscow is under siege by some unknown forces and only Vasya knows one of the reasons. But she has to keep her identity a secret, What is fate of her?

Read this amazing book to know more.

My review: Okay, this series is diverse in unique ways. First of all, I loved the idea how our protagonist was displayed – brave, independent, the stereotypes breaker. I mean who doesn’t love an independent, brave, experimental protagonist! I saw character growth, plot was new but it was really carried out in a great way. It doesn’t have many characters but still it is a very balanced book in terms of characters.

The narration, writing style and pacing was beautiful. Yes , as always I loved the ambience and I approve it as one of the best atmospheric reads. Calm and chaotic at the same time. Also I want to talk about the little romantic moments that we got in this one, oh! They were icing on the cake. Would not have asked for more. Also there is magic, assassins sieging Moscow, the domovoi’s, the cheryti’s, the confusion, the winter. The research put behind the Russian culture is really good.

Also I love the point of view that someone whom we really consider as antagonist (the bear) is not so evil as the people around Vasya. People like Father Konstantin who wants the domovoi and other creatures who actually protect everyone to be away. Says false prayers, is confused about his own actions and blames the one who actually help. So it’s amazing to read it from that perspective, makes it a lot more meaningful.

I have never read such an amazing series. This one is a perfect sequel, so I give it a 5 out 5 stars.

P.S. This are my views on the book, no intension of hurting my viewers.

Photo credit: I, me, myself

~Kashish~