The Lovely Bones: Alice Seabold

Pages: 336

ISBN: 9780330485388

Publications : Picador

Format: Paperback

Great lines: “If loss could be used as a measure of beauty, than we would have been more beautiful

Hey friends, so here I am back with the review of The lovely bones by Alice Seabold. I got my hands on this book because of the description of the story and the charm bracelet on the cover made me curious and eureka! I was reading it after some days with a cup of coffee. So let’s just get into the overview of story first and below will be the review.

A Little Overview of Story: This book by the Picador publications- in it the story is divided into 23 sections, followed by an epilogue. So here our protagonist Susie Salmon, who is 14 years old, gets murdered in the beginning of the story. And then, we see the whole story from her perspective – how she saw the upcoming of her parents and sister from the trauma of her death! How everyone of them move on in their lives and his brother-Buckley growing up to be a little arrogant towards her mother. So we will follow the story from only one perspective i.e. Susie Salmon will be expressing what she encounters from heaven.

This is it for the overview as, if I will say more it will turn out to be a spoiler! Okay, so let’s jump into my review.

My Review: This book fits in the genre of Fantasy and Drama; yeah, it surely has family drama and all. Susie looks that how her family members are coming up from the news of her murder, how Lindsey (Susie’s sister) moves on in her college life in further years. What I liked about this story was that the story was not concentrated only on how Susie’s family was upcoming from the state of her death but also from the view of Susie’ s Boyfriend (Ray Singh) and his family, Susie’s best friend (Ruth). The writer was successful in maintaining the essence of humour, the story becomes a little slow paced after about 60 pages. Some things in the story didn’t make sense to me at times while reading it, I didn’t really enjoy how the writer tried to bring the romance out in the story, she literally failed in doing so! If you pick up this book, make sure that you don’t expect too much from it. Like, let me tell you, I (before purchasing it) was expecting from the description that it will have more than one perspective. Moreover it turned out to be a story in which the whole thing was just and just about how the family was surviving after one of their daughters death! Which was a bit disappointing for me.

Talking about the grammar, there are a few errors in the books published in 2003. I have found the description of characters to be good and all of them were just fitted so perfectly in the story. A good read if you want to read something different or from a different perspective.

All in all, I will give 3 out of 5 stars to this book.

If you want to have this book, you can get it from amazon

“>amazon Also, let me know in the comments below your views on this book after reading. I will love to know your views.

P.S. These are my views on the book, honestly laid down before you. It is just that I read and like to share my review so that it may be helpful to someone. So no intention of hurting my dear viewers.

~Kashish~

Photo credit: I, me and myself

2 thoughts on “The Lovely Bones: Alice Seabold

Leave a comment